Excellence in Agricultural Law



The purpose of the AALA’s Excellence in Agricultural Law Award is to recognize AALA members for outstanding contributions to the legal profession and the agricultural community. These awards may acknowledge members from professional sectors, including one from each of the following sectors:

  1. Private Practice
  2. Academia
  3. Government
  4. Non-Governmental Organizations (NGO’s)
  5. In-House Counsel


The AALA Awards Committee will select recipients who have made outstanding contributions to agricultural law through any of the following:

  • Legal Representation
  • Continuing Legal Education
  • Professionalism
  • Pro Bono Service
  • Public Education Programming
  • Classroom Teaching
  • Public Policy
  • Public Service
  • Leadership
  • Court and Appellate Cases

Where to submit:

Please email your nominations to info@aglaw-assn.org with the name of the award in the subject line. The deadline is September 15.

Past Recipients:

Academic Awardee Government Awardee Non-Governmental Awardee Private Practice Awardee
2021 Paul Goeringer Ashley Ellixson Marvin Beshore
2020 Wayne Hayenga  


Don Downing
2019 Tiffany Dowell Lashmet Cort Jensen Janie Hipp Jim Bradbury

Jesse J. Richardson Jr.


David Bracht Eldon McAfee



Drew L. Kershen Brian C. Buescher



Peggy Kirk Hall Mike Traxinger  David LeBas

Ted Feitshans


Justin Schneider Tom Carrato

Shannon Ferrell


Janie Hipp Stephen Carpenter Cari Rincker

John Becker


Beth Crocker Mark Thornburg Ed Small

Margaret “Peggy” Grossman


Ray Starling John Huffaker

Don Uchtmann


David Grahn Larry Gearhardt  David Waggoner

Harrison M. Pittman


 Patrick K. Costello