Featured Member: Jennifer Zwagerman

I practiced for a number of years at Faegre Baker Daniels, which is an ag law practice and moved to Drake almost exactly 5 years ago. Now I am the Associate Director of the Agricultural Law Center at Drake Law School and the Director of Career Development at Drake Law School based in Des Moines.

AALA Announces New Officers and Directors for 2016-17

Justin Schneider began his term as President of AALA during the 37th Annual Agricultural Law Symposium held in Oklahoma City October 6 through 8.  AALA members also elected Jennifer Williams Zwagerman as President-Elect, Tyler Buswell and Tiffany Dowell-Lashmet as directors and Beth Rumley was appointed to fill the remainder of Zwagerman’s director term.     Schneider currently serves as […]

2016 AALA Award Recipients

AALA announced the 2016 award recipients at the 2016 AALA Annual Educational Symposium at Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. David Grahn was honored with the AALA Distinguished Service Award, AALA Excellence in Agricultural Law Awards were presented to David LeBas, Peggy Kirk-Hall and Mike Traxinger, Stephanie Tai received the AALA Professional Scholarship Award, and the AALA Student Scholarship Award was presented to Neal Rasmussen. Pictured above, from left to right, are Peggy Kirk-Hall, David Grahn, Stephanie Tai and Mike Traxinger.

AALA Recognizes Outgoing Directors

AALA recognized and thanked two outgoing directors at the 2016 AALA Annual Educational Symposium. Shannon Ferrell and Ray Starling have volunteered their time by serving a three-year term on the Board of Directors of AALA.

Featured Member: Patrick (Pat) B. Dillon

Work: Dillon Law, Sumner, IA   Education and Work Experience: Iowa State University, Agricultural Studies, 4 years active duty as a United States Transportation Officer, Juris Doctor, Drake Law School   How did you get into Agriculture Law? “I’ve been working on the family farm for as long as I can remember.  I work with […]

Featured Member: Cari Rincker

Work: Rincker Law PLLC – a general practice law firm with concentrations in agriculture, food, and matrimonial and family law   Education: Associate’s in Agriculture Science, Lake Land College, Bachelor’s of Science in Animal Science, Texas A&M, Masters of Science Ruminant Nutrition, University of Illinois, Juris Doctor, Pace University School of Law   How did […]

Featured Member: Eldon McAfee

“I farmed before I went to law school. I was a dairy farmer for close to ten years and then I went to law school at Drake as a second career. I think the combination of an ag background and the legal education is what gives me and other ag attorneys a real advantage in working with rural clients.”

2016 President and Director Election

The AALA Nominating Committee has presented the following slate of candidates for its Board of Directors.  Three positions (the President-elect and two at-large board positions) will be elected for service from October 2016 to September 2019. Ballots were mailed to active members in July 2016 and are requested to be returned and postmarked by July 30, […]

Nominate a Member for an AALA Award

AALA recognizes the excellence and professionalism of its members through a series of awards that are presented annually at our Symposium.